State Testing

State Testing is the testing that is required for graduation:

Class of 2015, 2016, 2017 – this is the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT)

Class of 2018 – this is the Ohio Computer-Based Assessments (OCBA)


Vocabulary and Acronyms

To have an understanding of the state testing, it is important to know all of the vocabulary and acronyms involved..

  1. OST- Ohio State Tests; this is the new generation of assessments required for graduation beginning with the Class of 2018.
  2. EOY/EOC – End-of-Year/End-of-Course.
  3. AIR – American Institutes for Research; an organization responsible for developing and administering assessments.
  4. ELA –  English Language Arts
  5. Testing Window – a specific group of dates assigned by the State of Ohio that allows students to test.
  6. ACT – American College Test.

The OST began in the spring of 2015 and affects the students in the Class of 2018 and beyond.  There are 7 tests:

  1. ELA 9 
  2. ELA 10 
  3. Algebra 1
  4. Geometry
  5. Biology
  6. American History 
  7. American Government 
  • Tests are scored on a scale of 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest).  
  • To graduate, students are required to accumulate a minimum of 18 points on 7 tests, that include the following conditions:
    • 6 points on science and social studies combined
    • 4 points in math
    • 4 points in ELA 

Newark Catholic is using the ACT as it’s alternate pathway to graduation. Students using this pathway need to score a minimum of 18 in English, 22 in Math, and 22 in Reading. Students take this test at Newark Catholic in the Spring of their Junior year. 



In order to graduate, students from Newark Catholic in the Class of 2018 and beyond must:

Earn at least 24 credits, and

Take the OST tests, and

Satisfy one of the following:

  1. Earn 18 points on the OST tests, or
  2. Earn a remediation-free score on a national college admissions test (ACT), or
  3. Earn a technical credential and a passing score on the WorkKeys test.